Alice had been talking about 'Detroit Stories' for nearly two years before it was released, and indeed it seems the basic recording was completed before March 2020 (most likely in 2019). Part of the delay was likely due to the Covid 19 pandemic in 2020, as all through the lockdown Alice refered to it "done". The 2020 single 'Don't Give Up' was originally part of the album, but released with changed lyrics when all touring etc was stopped by the pandemic.

Original release: February 26th 2021

Track listing

  1. Rock'n'Roll - Velvet Underground song (Reed)(4:43)
  2. Go Man Go (album version)(Cooper, Ezrin, Henriksen, Wayne Kramer)
  3. Our Love Will Change The World (Matthew Smith)(3:39)
  4. Social Debris (Cooper, Smith, Ezrin)
  5. $1000 High Heel Shoes
  6. Hail Mary
  7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)
  8. Drunk And In Love
  9. Independence Dave
  10. I Hate You (Cooper, Dunaway, Ezrin)
  11. Wonderful World
  12. Sister Anne (Album Version) (Fred Smith)(MC5 cover)
  13. Hanging On By A Thread (Don't Give Up)
  14. Shut Up An Rock
  15. East Side Story (Album Version) (Bob Seger)(Bob Seger cover)

(Still awaiting full credits but these all seem likely based on 'Breadcrumbs' and news reports)

  • Alice Cooper - Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals
  • Joe Bonamassa - Guitar (on 'Rock'n'Roll')
  • Johnny “Bee” Badanjek - Drums
  • Mark Farmer (Grand Funk Railroad) - Guitars, Backing Vocals
  • Wayne Kramer (MC5) - Guitars, Backing Vocals
  • Garrett Bielaniec - Guitars
  • Paul Randolph - Bass, Backing Vocals
  • Dennis Dunaway - Bass (on 'Social Debris' and 'I Hate You')
  • Neal Smith - Drums (on 'Social Debris' and 'I Hate You')
  • Michael Bruce - Guitars (on 'Social Debris' and 'I Hate You')
  • Bobby Emmett - Keyboards
  • Bob Ezrin - Keyboards, Percussion, Backing Vocals
  • Nolan Young - Saxophone
  • Allen Dennard - Trumpet
  • Long Shorty - Backing Vocals
  • Mick Collins - Backing Vocals
  • Sheryl Cooper - Backing Vocals
  • Calico Cooper - Backing Vocals

Sleeve Notes

Produced by Bob Ezrin


Album Notes - (Detailed release information)

Not Released Yet

Red VinylRed VinylRed Vinyl
Red VinylRed VinylRed Vinyl
Red VinylRed Vinyl

So far there seem to be the following 'Detroit Stories' formats:

  • Double vinyl album on red vinyl
  • Double album on black vinyl
  • Double album on purple vinyl (Townsend exclusive limited edition)
  • Double album on blue vinyl (JPC exclusive limited edition - later cancelled)
  • Double album on clear vinyl (500 copies)
  • Double album on splatter vinyl (Good Records Astroturf exclusive - 1000 copies)
  • 1xCD edition
  • 1xCD+1xDVD edition adding the previously unreleased film from 'A Paranormal Night At The Olympia, Paris'
  • 1xCD+1xBlu-ray+t-shirt, face mask, torch light and 3 stickers edition adding the previously unreleased film from 'A Paranormal Night At The Olympia, Paris'

Cover art (and a release date) unexpectedly appeared on on November 1st 2020. The image appears to be based on the 'David Stott Building, at 1152 Griswold St in Detroit, and local photographs seem to back this up as the other nearby buildings are also very similar in design to the ones on the cover. Above the buildings searchlights, like the 'Bat Signal' in Batman comics, which pick out the 'spider eye' Alice Cooper eyes.

The Richard Stott Building

On November 7th the official Alice Cooper facebook page posted a cryptic 15 second video showing a cloudy sky, and followed it up the following day with the same video, but with the buildings added. This continued until revealing the full cover with moving searchlights.

The first (digital only) single was 'Rock'n'Roll', a Velvet Underground cover, which was released on November 12th 2020. This was followed on December 11th by 'Our Love Will Change The World', another cover song this time originally written and recorded by Outrageous Cherry.