The Strange Case Of Alice Cooper

UK cover

'The Strange Case of Alice Cooper' is the live video of the 'From The Inside (Mad House Rock)' Tour filmed in San Diego April 9th 1979. It was unavailable for over 30 years until Shout Factory announced in 2012 that a DVD release would be forthcoming on May 22nd 2012.

The Track listing is:

  • Instrumental Intro
  • From The Inside
  • Serious
  • Nurse Rozetta
  • The Quiet Room
  • I Never Cry
  • Devil's Food intro-Welcome To My Nightmare
  • Billion Dollar Babies
  • Only Women Bleed
  • No More Mr. Nice Guy
  • I'm Eighteen
  • The Black Widow-instrumental
  • Wish I Was Born In Beverly Hills
  • Ballad of Dwight Fry
  • Go To Hell
  • How You Gonna See Me Now
  • Inmates (We're All Crazy)
  • School's Out

At least two tracks were played at the show but not included in the video. The first was the unreleased song 'All Strapped Up'. This was omitted because it was performed using the 'magic screen' and didn't translate too well to film. The second was 'Dead Babies'. No reason for it's removal is known.

There are 6 variant releases of this tape

1. US NTSC with Madhouse Show Car cover
2. US Beta with Madhouse Show Car cover

3. UK PAL with Snake cover
4. UK BETA with Snake cover

5. Australian PAL with Madhouse Show Car cover

6. Swiss PAL with different cover

Rental and Retail don`t appear to have had different covers
US versions with Snake covers are actually always bootlegs using the UK sleeve
There is NO official DVD release as yet

2012 DVD cover

This film was finally released on NTSC DVD in the USA on May 22nd 2012 by Shout Factory! and was also available outside the US exclusively via The DVD is region 0 so should play on any player that supports NTSC playback.

The track listing appears to be the same as the original VHS (additional footage from the show is said to no longer exist) but the DVD includes a commentary track with Alice.
The new cover is the same photo seen on the 1979 tour programme.

Buy Form Amazon US